

## Special Newsletter

## 2024 66th Annual Members' Show



Laura Robinson wins "Best of Show" with her watercolor "Done for the Day" (pictured right)



Pictured above: Cheryl Faber -AW President, Anne Dall -VP and Show Chair, and "Best of Show" winner and AW Secretary, Laura Robinson. Judge Bryce Hammond is in the background.

he 66th Annual Members' Show Awards were presented on Sunday, March 10th under the pavilion at our Studio location in NSB. With a sunny day and a light breeze, the Garden Party theme looked festive as people chatted and caught up with each other before the buffet brunch was served at noon. Laubster's Catering provided a delicious assortment of food, and mimosas flowed throughout the event as people wandered through the gallery enjoying the 103 entries in this year's Show, and voting for "People's Choice." Just for fun, we had a cooperative art project for people to work on as well, and completed about a third of it. It'll turn up again at a Member's meeting, perhaps, to see if we can finish it!

Starting shortly after I PM, the Awards were presented. This year 32 awards were given, totaling \$5300, nearly all from our many generous sponsors, including current and former members, and others from the community who were honoring friends and relatives. Thanks to all for your support!

"It takes a village" to produce an event like this, and many AW volunteers helped it all come together. Thanks to all the members and others who took on the many tasks that made the day special and fun for all. Setting up, putting away, taking in art, hanging it, decorating, arranging food & drink, and keeping paperwork and web info flowing is a lot of work and needs a lot of collaboration, patience, and time. My sincere thanks to all who helped!



## Additional Awards



Steven Hardock won
"People's Choice,"
2nd Place, and the award for
"Traditional Realism" with
his outstanding watercolor
rendition of the "Sugar Mill
Ruins" pictured below.





We thank JoAnne Reilly for her long tenure as Annual Show "Hanger." This year's show was the last one that JoAnne will coordinate, and she will be missed.

Special thanks to JoAnne Reilly for her many years of curating and hanging the annual show! She is retiring from this challenging position and was acknowledged for her expertise during the ceremony by the crowd. A beautiful orchid was presented to her in thanks.



Nancy Shea won
First Place for her
delightful
Oil painting "Hygge"



Dominque DuBois won
Third Place for her
Acrylic painting "Under the
Moon's Gaze"

























## And the rest of the Awards...



President's Award Mindy Colton "Hope Endures"



Maritime Subject Award Patrick Raush "Storm Approaching"



The Art is Creation "Gratitude" Award Debbie Nye "The Fall of Eve"



In honor of Greg and Bea Bassett **Dottie Holdren** Banana Blossom



Constance Elder Awd Mary Gerlach "Springtime: Live Oak & Azaelas"



Portrait IMO William Herlehy **Gail Waters** "Thoughtful Reflections"



Award IMO my Grandson Bret **Bob Stinziano** "Menagerie"



Erdman Awd./Best Floral Art Patricia Domanski "Golden Hour"



Our Love of Nature/Environment Linda Bishop "Bonds of the Pride"



Alex Demers Memorial Award Deborah Hildinger "We Shall Persevere"



Ruth Squitieri "Golden Light"



Artist to Artist Award Award IMO Joey Twardosz Linda Hoffmeister "Deep in the Swamp"







Marilyn Roland Memorial Art Award Betty Buzzi "Inspiration"



Douglas Duncan Award for Outstanding Pastel Barbara Ortiz "Looking for Clarity"



Award for Best Travel Scene Liv Witherow "The Hills of Muggia"



Creative Use of Color

Award

Kathy Parker

"Living Waters"



Watercolor/and or WC & Pen & Ink Award Debbie McNerney "Mickey"



"Exploring Nature thru Art" Award Joe Anglin "Early Morning, NSB"



"Talent Award: in Memory of Bob Herrold John McLeod "Where's Home"



Abstract/ Non-Objective Award Peggy Banks "Luminescence"



"Keep it Real" Award for Traditional Realism Steven Hardock "Sugar Mill Ruins"



Buddy Davenport "Artists Choice" Award Eric Reimann "The Doris Leepman House"



Outstanding Photography Award James Englebrecht "Shining Cypress Swamp"



"Keep on Drawing" Award
Jocelyn Chabot
"Plumber's Still Life (for Bob Chabot"







"I'm Not an Artist" Award IMO Joan Jackson Henry Gerson "East Wind"